I Want My Childhood Toons Back

What is it with all the Gross that has saturated into kids cartoons?

          We just reactivated Netflix on my Xbox last week, and now we are back to policing what shows the kids watch, since our library just expanded by a few hundred titles. Now, I love Netflix, always have, its cheaper than full blown cable, and I don’t need to set a DVR for my shows. That being said, I wish Netflix had a better protocol for parental control. Just being able to block a show based on its rating, only goes so far. My kids don’t ever turn on “bad” shows, but sometimes they stumble onto cartoons that I just don’t think are all that great for their age group, even if the little rating box in the corner says otherwise.

(Well, there was that time our then four year old turned on some Japanese Anime while we weren’t looking, complete with full blown bouncing naked boobs)

Because, to put it simply, I don’t like how disgusting/gross some of the cartoons are.

_________

Johnny Test
Farts
         I can handle my kids watching something with a few fart jokes, no biggie. I don’t mind this show, but they can’t watch it all the time. My daughter already tries farting on people, she doesn’t need a Super Poot master teaching her any advanced techniques.
_____________

Billy And Mandy
Snot
     Why is so much snot being flung around, coughed up, or dribbled all over? It doesn’t add anything to the humor most of the time. I don’t want my kids wiping boogers on the bedroom wall, thank you very much. This one is not allowed, but my kids try anyway.
    _______________
  
Rocko’s Modern Life
 Say What?

Is  this even a kids cartoon? Last I watched it, there was bit of sexual innuendo slipped in here and there, I really doubt this is suitable for small children, but it is listed in the kids section. Oh, and snot, snot is not cool.
_________

Invader Zim
Sometimes Gross, Sometimes Funny, Not For My Kids
Now, I have watched many an episode of Zim, and while I don’t find every episode funny, overall I sort of liked it. But, it is rated at TV-Y7, and  what with Zim stealing (and eating) human organs, burrowing into kids brains, and generally causing mayhem, I don’t think I will be letting my oldest watch it any time soon.
I am sure there are more kids shows that I missed, I have yet to make my way through the entire Netflix library. Maybe one day Netflix will let us block shows individually, instead of blocking everything with a certain rating. 
But until then, I will just stand by with the extra Xbox remote nearby, exercising my veto powers as needed.

Oh, and don’t even get me started on what I don’t like about the shows that my kids can access on our basic cable…

Leave a comment