An Unexpected Guest

Yesterday, the kids and I spent most of the morning and early afternoon running errands and grocery shopping. Around 2PM, we pulled into the drive at home, and I was more than ready to get the kids out of the car, and into the back yard. As I put the car in park, Mikayla very matter of factly said “look, the puppy came to see us”.

Puppy? What puppy? 

When I looked at where she was pointing, I noticed a dirty, whitish ball of fluff on our front door step.
It looks like someone dumped him on our street, and he was dehydrated and soaking wet. He is going to be staying with us until I can contact the local animal shelter to see if anyone reported him missing.

He spent most of yesterday and last night sleeping on our kitchen floor, not making a sound or exploring his surroundings like a puppy should. He finally got around to eating shortly after 7PM, and then explored the house and the kids a bit before falling asleep again. The first thing the kids did this morning was check on him, it was more important than breakfast, and few things trump breakfast in this house.

I was very relieved to see the dog chasing the kids around the house, and finally barking and making some noise. As quiet as it was yesterday, I was concerned that he may have been too neglected for me to handle on my own. He doesn’t appear to be sick, but man, that dog needs a bath. So I guess that is on the to-do list today.

I am not good at identifying dog breeds, so hopefully the shelter can help with that. If nobody wants him, then we have to talk about his future, and my kids desire to keep him.

Won’t that be fun….

Leave a comment